<u>Minutes of Meeting held on 12.03.2015 to discuss modalities of</u> <u>Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchayee Yojana(PMKSY)</u>

A meeting was held on 12th March, 2015 at Krishi Bhawan under the Chairmanship of Secretary (A&C) to discuss the modalities for operationalising PMKSY in the light of budget announcement wherein funds for the programme have been parked in the budget of Ministry of Water Resource, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation (MoWR,RD&GR); Department of Agriculture & Cooperation (DAC); and Department of Land Resources(DoLR). The meeting was attended by all concerned Ministries/Departments. The list of participants attended the meeting is annexed:

Based on the discussions, following decision were taken:

- 1. Ministry of Water Resources will continue implementation of Accelerated Irrigation Benefit Programme (AIBP) for which Rs. 1000 crore for 2015-15 have been assigned. The EFC Note and corresponding guidelines and norms for implementation of AIBP is to be worked out by MoWR,RD&GR. The source creation activities of AIBP that will contribute to PMKSY have to be specifically identified and are to be taken up as part of State/district irrigation plan of PMKSY.
- 2. Rs. 1000 crore that has been provisioned for PMKSY in the budget line of MoWR,RD& GR is to be implemented as per the state/district irrigation plan. This amount will be utilised for supplementing source creation for irrigation, including bore well, tube well etc., improving distribution network, conveyance/ transfer of water from reservoirs/MI check dams, installation of LI projects etc. MoWR,RD&GR will identify the details of the activities those to be taken up under the PMKSY.
- 3. Department of Land Resource would continue to implement the watershed development projects with the resources (Rs. 1500 crore) allocated to them. DoLR and DoRD through MGNREGS would

concentrate on source creation in rainfed areas. No new watershed projects should be taken up by DoLR till the approved projects of 38 million ha are saturated. However, considering the limited resources, DoLR should prioritize its work in the projects nearing completion.

- 4. Department of Rural Development have developed comprehensive water conservation plans for 2500 most backward blocks. These plans are required to be technically reworked/ refined in the context of PMKSY mandate. DoRD and DoLR should dovetail their activities in these blocks and the projects of watersheds of DoLR may be overlaid in these block plans for saturation of activities supplementing through MGNREGS. MoRD has to prioritize implementation of their work under MGNREGS in the blocks covered under prioritized watershed projects of DoLR for comprehensive development. DAC will also focus in these blocks on micro irrigation and extension activities for improving irrigation efficiency.
- 5. Department of Agriculture and Cooperation would continue to focus on micro irrigation with the resources earmarked for PMKSY in the DAC budget. Apart from micro irrigation, this fund has to be utilised for extension activities, awareness campaign, training and skill development of all stakeholders including Panchayati Raj institutions, specifically to improve the quality of works under MGNREGS.
- 6. It was decided that one common Note for Expenditure Finance Committee (EFC) with uniform funding pattern will be developed for PMKSY to improve coordination and synergy among the three segments of PMKSY. This activity will be coordinated by DAC.
- MoWR,RD&GR, DoLR, DoRD to contribute material/inputs as per the above decisions within a period of one week for incorporation in the EFC Note.

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to the chair.

List of participants in the meeting PMKSY held under the Chairmanship of Secretary (A&C) on 12th March, 2015 at Krishi Bhawan, New Delhi

- 1. Shri Siraj Husain, Secretary (A&C) Chairman
- 2. Shri D.K. Jain, Additional Secretary, DAC
- 3. Shri Raghvendra Singh, Additional Secretary, DAC
- 4. Dr. A.K. Sikka, DDG (NRM), ICAR
- 5. Shri Sanjeev Chopra, Joint Secretary, DAC
- 6. Shri R. Subramanyam, Joint Secretary, MoRD
- 7. Shri Arunish Chawla, Joint Secretary, Deptt. of Expenditure
- 8. Shri Sandeep Dave, JS(IWMP), DoLR
- 9. Shri. R.B.Sinha, Joint Secretary (RFS), DAC
- 10. Dr. B. Rajendra, Joint Secretary, MoWR, RD&GR
- 11. Dr. S.K. Chaudhary, ADG (SWM), ICAR
- 12. Shri Jagdish Singh, DIG (Forest), DoLR
- 13. Shri S.S.Ray, Director(MNCFC), DAC
- 14. Shri C.M.Pandey, AdC(NRM), DAC
- 15. Shri. G. N. Sharma, Tech. Expert (MGNREGA), MoRD
- 16. Shri Naresh Modi, (NCPAH), MoA
- 17. Shri. S.L.Jain, (Sen. Joint Comm.), MoWR, RD&GR
- 18. Shri B.Rath, AdC(RFS), DAC

•••••